Skip to Main Content

Memory Hold The Door, Volume IV: 1988–1997

Memory Hold The Door Honorees from 1988 to 1997.

The Honorable Clement Furman Haynsworth, Jr. (1911–1989)

Summa cum laude Furman University 1933. Law degree Harvard University 1936. As a lawyer, reputation for wise counsel and adherence to highest ethical standards. Opinions admired for their clarity, brevity, fairness, and broad scholarship. Under his leadership, Fourth Circuit widely known for courtesy shown to lawyers. Practiced with family law firm until World War II and from 1945 until appointment to Federal Court of Appeals, Fourth Judicial Circuit in 1957. Served with distinction for 32 years, 17 years as Chief Judge (1964–81).

Known nationwide for his courage and dignity. Following his rejection by the Senate as a nominee for the United States Supreme Court (1969), as time passed he was totally vindicated. His reputation as an outstanding jurist and a person of highest moral character firmly established.

Lived according to highest ideals of professionalism. Inspiration and role model for all lawyers. A gentleman in every good sense of the word.