Skip to Main Content

LRAW Research Fall 2024

Learning Outcomes: U.S. Legal System Unit

Upon completing this U.S. Legal System unit, you will be able to:

  • Recognize that the United States has three sovereigns and three systems of government, federal, state, and tribal, each of which has its own set of laws, and that the United States Constitution recognizes these three types of sovereigns. 
  • Name the four sources of law;
  • Compare the roles of each of the three branches of government and the laws they produce;
  • Distinguish between primary and secondary legal resources;
  • Recognize a legal authority as mandatory or persuasive; and 
  • Determine the weight of a legal authority based on jurisdiction and level of court.