LibGuides: Children's Law Research Guide: Child Custody

Search South Carolina Child Custody Laws & Cases

SC Code of Laws: South Carolina Legislature's Website

Search current child custody laws on the website of the SC General Assembly. You may access previous versions of the SC Code on its Archives page.

Title 63, Chapter 15: Child Custody and Visitation

SC Cases: South Carolina Judicial Department's Website

Search SC Supreme Court opinions from 1997 to the present, and SC Court of Appeals opinions from 1999 to the present. Website also provides locations and contact information for trial courts and court officials.

Print Resources

Modern Child Custody Practice, 2nd ed. by Jeff Atkinson
Call Number: KF505.5.A98 2000

ISBN: 9780327106906

Publication Date: 2000

Published by LexisNexis, this 2-volume loose-leaf collection provides up-to-date information and practice materials for child custody law in the United States.
Child Custody and Visitation Law and Practice by John P. McCahey ... [et al.]
Call Number: KF547.C47

Publication Date: 1983 (Supp. 2015)

Part of the Matthew Bender series, this 5-volume loose-leaf set provides updated developments in child custody law, as well as practice materials for child custody cases.
Children, Courts, and Custody by Andrew I. Schepard
Call Number: KF547 .S33 2004

ISBN: 0521822017

Publication Date: 2004

This book discusses current trends in child custody law from the perspective of divorce cases, using empirical research to support its conclusions and findings. Topics include mediation and conflict resolution, mental health services, and education.
Domestic Violence, Abuse, and Child Custody by Mo Therese Hannah and Barry Goldstein, eds.
Call Number: KF505.5.D66 2010

ISBN: 9781887554763

Publication Date: 2010

Using historical analysis, case studies, and other social science methodology, this book looks at the issues and trends involved in domestic violence child custody cases, with an aim toward developing effective legal strategies. Topics include "Historical Origins of the Fathers' Rights Movement," "Gender Bias in the Courts: Implications for Battered Mothers and Their Children," and "Parental Alienation Syndrome."

Web Resources

SC Law Help: Custody
The Custody page of the SC Law Help website provides resources for low-income residents of South Carolina seeking assistance with child custody cases.
NOLO Child Custody, Child Support & Visitation
This section of the free legal encyclopedia NOLO provides links to articles and FAQs relating to child custody issues of particular use to the pro se litigants and other non-practitioners.

Your Public Library

Ask if your public library offers the Gale LegalForms database.

LegalForms contains state-specific forms and documents in Word or Adobe format that can be edited to suit users' needs by filling in the blanks with relevant and accurate information.

Some public libraries also offer access to Westlaw, an online legal research service.