LibGuides: Children's Law Research Guide: Family Law

Search South Carolina Family Laws & Cases

SC Code of Laws: South Carolina Legislature's Website

Search current family laws on the website of the SC General Assembly. You may access previous versions of the SC Code on its Archives page.

Title 20: Domestic Relations

Title 63: Children's Code

SC Cases: South Carolina Judicial Department's Website

Search SC Supreme Court opinions from 1997 to the present, and SC Court of Appeals opinions from 1999 to the present. Website also provides locations and contact information for trial courts and court officials.

Print Resources

Family Law in a Nutshell by John E. B. Myers
Call Number: KF505.Z9 K7 2019
ISBN: 9781684672448
Publication Date: 2019
Few areas of law practice cover as many issues as family law. The subject embraces marriage and divorce, annulment, custody of children, spousal and child support, complex property issues, paternity, domestic violence, adoption, and alternative means of reproduction.
International Family Law Deskbook by Ann Laquer Estin
Call Number: K670 .E845 2017
ISBN: 9781634254120
Publication Date: 2017
International family law has emerged as an important subject and has become part of the everyday work of family court judges and family law practitioners across the country. International family law presents many puzzles to practitioners, especially in the United States. The International Family Law Deskbook, Second Edition takes a broad approach to this topic and brings together the law applicable to a wide range of cross-border family issues.
Family and Succession by Walter Pintens, ed.
Call Number: K 670.F3496
ISBN: 9789065448880
Publication Date: 1997
Published by Kluwer Law International as part of its International Encyclopedia of Laws, this 7-volume set is arranged in alphabetical order by country and provides up-to-date information on family law issues around the world. This is an excellent resource for the scholar looking to do comparative research on transnational child and family law issues.
Also available on Westlaw, updated periodically.
Family Law and the Indissolubility of Parenthood by Patrick Parkinson
Call Number: K670 .P375 2011
ISBN: 9780521116107
Publication Date: 2011
Written with an eye to American, European, and Australian law, this monograph examines family law from the perspective of the relationship between children and parents, taking into account historical developments in the law and their modern-day ramifications.

Web Resources

ABA Section of Family Law
This website for the ABA special section on Family Law provides resources and materials relating to the practice of all areas of family law in the United States.
SC Law Help: Family and Juvenile
The Family and Juvenile section of the SC Law Help website links to resources for free legal assistance available to low-income residents of South Carolina seeking help with family and child law issues.
Family Law Organization
The Family Law Organization is a member of the Child Custody Network and is devoted to promoting the best interests of children in family law matters. The site provides links to law and resources on family for all 50 states.

Your Public Library

Ask if your public library offers the Gale LegalForms database.

LegalForms contains state-specific forms and documents in Word or Adobe format that can be edited to suit users' needs by filling in the blanks with relevant and accurate information.

Some public libraries also offer access to Westlaw, an online legal research service.