LibGuides: Children's Law Research Guide: Education

Search South Carolina Education Laws & Cases

SC Code of Laws: South Carolina Legislature's Website

Search current education laws on the website of the SC General Assembly. You may access previous versions of the SC Code on its Archives page.

Title 59: SC Code of Laws: Education

SC Cases: South Carolina Judicial Department's Website

Search SC Supreme Court opinions from 1997 to the present, and SC Court of Appeals opinions from 1999 to the present. Website also provides locations and contact information for trial courts and court officials.

Print Resources

Education Law by Derek W. Black
Call Number: KF4155.B53 2016
ISBN: 9781454876465
Publication Date: 2016
Written by Derek Black, Education Law Association's 2015 Goldberg Award for Most Significant Publication in Education Law recipient, this second edition casebook develops Education Law through the themes of equality, fairness, and reform. Specifically, Education Law: Equality, Fairness, and Reform, Second Edition, focuses on the laws of equal educational opportunity for various different disadvantaged student populations, the recent reform movements designed to improve education, and the general constitutional rights that extend to all students.
Encyclopedia of Education Law by Charles J. Russo (Editor)
Call Number: KF4117.E53 2008
ISBN: 9781412940795
Publication Date: 2008
This two-volume set covers a broad range of education law topics from governance issues to educational equity. The encyclopedia also includes a number of biographies and case studies for famous people and cases found in the field of education law. Volume 1 comprises A-K, and volume 2 includes L-Z and the index.
Education Law (Looseleaf) by James A. Rapp
Call Number: KF 4119.E275 2011
Publication Date: 2011
This loose-leaf practice aid comes in 7 volumes, including a collection of practice forms and a general index. Part of the LexisNexis Matthew Bender series, the content is updated by supplement each year to reflect the most up-to-date developments in American education law.
The Law of Schools, Students and Teachers in a Nutshell by Kern Alexander; M. Alexander
Call Number: KF 4119.3.A44 2018
ISBN: 9781640204249
Publication Date: 2018
This text captures the key points of the precedents governing student rights and responsibilities relating to attendance, speech, expression, religion, discipline, grades, tests, drugs, search and seizure, the emerging law of social media, i.e., cyberbullying, and the range of procedural due process interests. The book further addresses the range of constitutional rights and protections for teachers as well as employment terms and conditions, including contracts, tenure and potential liabilities.
The Yearbook of Education Law by Charles J. Russo (Editor)
Call Number: KF4102.5.Y4 2017
Publication Date: 2017
This annual periodical compiles all the relevant education law developments on an array of topics for each year. It covers everything from school employees to students with disabilities to education law in select foreign jurisdictions. Prior to the 1990s, this periodical was known as The Yearbook of School Law. It is a great resource for both current and historical education law research.
Children, Parents, and the Law by Tamar R. Birckhead; Lee E. Teitelbaum; Leslie Harris
Call Number: KF 540.H39 2012
ISBN: 9780735507135
Publication Date: 2012
Part of the Aspen Casebook Series, this textbook covers the entire process of a juvenile justice case, from investigation to disposition. Although this is a textbook containing several different areas of children's law, an entire third of the book is devoted to discussion of juvenile justice issues.
The Law and Special Education by Mitchell L. Yell
Call Number: KF 4210 .Y45 2016
ISBN: 9780133827019
Publication Date: 2016

Web Resources

SC Dept. of Education
This website for the SC Department of Education provides resources and information on the state's education system for students, parents, teachers, and all others interested in education issues.
U.S. Dept. of Education
This website for the U.S. Department of Education provides resources and information on the federal education system for students, parents, teachers, and all others interested in education issues.
West's Education Law Reporter
This periodical resource requires a Westlaw login to access. It provides current case descriptions and commentary on developments in education law in the U.S.
Journal of Law & Education
A joint publication between the University of South Carolina Law Center and the Louis D. Brandeis School of Law at the University of Louisville, this journal is published quarterly and is available online at Westlaw and Lexis with a login and is readily accessible on HeinOnline through the law school's IP address.

Your Public Library

Ask if your public library offers the Gale LegalForms database.

LegalForms contains state-specific forms and documents in Word or Adobe format that can be edited to suit users' needs by filling in the blanks with relevant and accurate information.

Some public libraries also offer access to Westlaw, an online legal research service.