LibGuides: Children's Law Research Guide: Juvenile Justice

Search South Carolina Juvenile Justice Laws & Cases

SC Code of Laws: South Carolina Legislature Website

Search current juvenile justice statutes on the website for the SC General Assembly. You may access previous versions of the SC Code on its Archives page.

Title 63: SC Code of Laws: Children's Code

The Juvenile Justice Code begins at 63-19-10.

SC Cases: South Carolina Judicial Department Website

Search SC Supreme Court opinions from 1997 to the present, and SC Court of Appeals opinions from 1999 to the present. Website also provides locations and contact information for trial courts and court officials.

Print Resources

American Juvenile Justice by Franklin E. Zimring
Call Number: HV 9104.Z575 2005
ISBN: 9780195181166
Publication Date: 2005
This book provides an excellent overview of American juvenile justice law from a theoretical and policy perspective. Key themes found in the book include: "Penal Proportionality for the Young Offender," "The Jurisprudence of Teen Pregnancy," and "Reducing the Harms of Minority Overrepresentation in American Juvenile Justice."
The Oxford Handbook of Juvenile Crime and Juvenile Justice by Barry C. Feld (Editor); Donna M. Bishop (Editor)
Call Number: HV 9104.O989X 2012
ISBN: 9780195385106
Publication Date: 2012
Part of the Oxford Handbook collection, this volume contains essays from prominent legal scholars and practitioners, as well as notable child psychologists on a range of topics relating to juvenile justice. Essay titles include: "Predictors of Violent Young Offenders," "Schools and Delinquency," and "Juvenile Justice Cross-Nationally Considered."
The Cycle of Juvenile Justice by Thomas J. Bernard; Megan C. Kurlychek
Call Number: HV 9065.B47 2010
ISBN: 9780195370362
Publication Date: 2010
Providing a comprehensive review of the history of juvenile justice in America, this book deals with contemporary problems of juvenile crime within their historical context to highlight the lessons that can be learned for the future.
Children, Parents, and the Law by Tamar R. Birckhead; Lee E. Teitelbaum; Leslie Harris
Call Number: KF 540.H39 2012
ISBN: 9780735507135
Publication Date: 2012
Part of the Aspen Casebook Series, this textbook covers the entire process of a juvenile justice case, from investigation to disposition. Although this is a textbook containing several different areas of children's law, an entire third of the book is devoted to discussion of juvenile justice issues.
Understanding Juvenile Law by Martin R. Gardner
Call Number: KF 9780.G37 2018
ISBN: 9781531005719
Publication Date: 2018
This Understanding treatise discusses the various bodies of law in relation to a fundamental issue permeating the entire field of juvenile law: the extent to which the law should protect young people rather than recognize them as autonomous persons.
Juvenile Justice Administration in a Nutshell by Barry Feld; Perry Moriearty
Call Number: KF 9780.F44 2018
ISBN: 9781640209121
Publication Date: 2018
This Nutshell title focuses exclusively on the criminal and non-criminal misconduct of children that bring them within the jurisdiction of juvenile courts and examines law enforcement, judicial, and administrative responses to that misconduct. It deals with issues of children's rights only insofar as they relate to the processes of investigating and prosecuting juvenile offenders for delinquency and status-offenses.

Web Resources

Juvenile Justice: SC Bar
Describes the Juvenile Justice system in South Carolina and provides links for other juvenile resources.
SC Dept. of Juvenile Justice
The DJJ's website provides practical information and resources for parents, victims, and representatives of juvenile offenders in the state of South Carolina.
ABA's Center on Children and the Law
The ABA's page on Children and the Law offers online resources to support their goals of improving legal representation and the legal systems that impact children and families.
Juvenile Justice for the Office of Justice Programs
Run by the DOJ, this site provides information for the Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention (OJJDP), as well as resources relating to other federally-funded programs geared toward the prevention of juvenile crime. Links from the OJJDP website lead to additional statistical and programming information.
Coalition for Juvenile Justice
The CJJ is a nation-wide organization of state advisory groups aimed at the prevention of juvenile crime and the improvement of juvenile court practices. This is a great resource for those interested in juvenile justice advocacy.

Your Public Library

Ask if your public library offers the Gale LegalForms database.

LegalForms contains state-specific forms and documents in Word or Adobe format that can be edited to suit users' needs by filling in the blanks with relevant and accurate information.

Some public libraries also offer access to Westlaw, an online legal research service.