Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Federal Legislative Process
Legislative Tracking: U.S.
U.S. Congressional Documents
For Students of all Ages
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government - for Kids
Basic introduction to U.S. historical documents, the three branches of government, and how laws are made in the U.S., categorized by grade level with a category for parents and teachers.
Center for Representative Government
Free civics education resources and activities to improve the public’s understanding of the role of representative government, to strengthen civic engagement. Resources include web links, games, videos, and apps.
Kids in the House
Educational and entertaining information about the legislative branch of the United States government for students of all age levels.
Schoolhouse Rock: How a Bill Becomes a Law
Schoolhouse Rock video on YouTube of a bill's journey through the federal legislative process.
SC Statehouse: Student Connection
Introduces students to the current members of the SC General Assembly and how they go about making laws.
South Carolina Statutes
South Carolina's Legislative Process
Booklet (37 page pdf) published by the SC House of Representatives describing SC's lawmaking process. Includes a glossary of legislative terms. (2016 ed.)
South Carolina Code of Laws (Online)
Browse or search the unofficial unannotated SC Code of Laws on the South Carolina Legislature Online website. Also access previous versions of the SC Code of Laws on its Archives page.
Previous Versions of the Current South Carolina Code (Online)
Previous versions of the current unofficial and unannotated SC Code. 2000 to present
Prior SC Laws
For many years, a revised set of the SC Code was published every ten years. Before 1902, the laws of SC were published in the SC Statutes at Large. South Carolina laws from 1790-1952 (with supplements though 1960) are accessible through the Internet Archive.
SC Acts & Joint Resolutions
SC Acts and Joint Resolutions are arranged by legislative session and Act number before they are published in the SC Code by subject/title. Acts passed by the current session of the SC General Assembly as well as the full text of SC Acts from 1980 forward are accesible through the SC Legislature Online website.
Volumes of the SC Acts & Joint Resolutions
Beginning in 2011, the Legislative Printing Office ceased providing print volumes of the SC Acts & Joint Resolutions. Volumes from 2011 forward are available in PDF format on the SC Legislature website.
Search SC Bills & Acts
Search the full text of SC bills and Acts from 1980 forward.
Records of the SC General Assembly: SC Archives & History Center
The SC Archives' Summary Guide to State Records lists records of the SC General Assembly held by the SC Archives, which includes committee reports.
Legislative Tracking: State
Uniform Laws & Model Acts