List of SC public libraries provided by the State Library.
List of South Carolina library and archive, including colleges and universities, provided by SciWay. The list is organized by county.
You may wish to contact your local library before you visit if you have any questions regarding library policies (for example, "May I borrow a book?" or "Is Internet access available?").
Below are links to some public libraries in South Carolina that maintain legal collections in print or online, Note that this is information provided to the USC Law Library by public libraries and is not intended to be a complete listing of resources available across the state. Always check with your local branch to see what they have, and what may be available at main branches.
Please keep in mind that librarians and library staff can help you find certain books and resources, but cannot provide legal advice or perform actions like filling out a form on your behalf or advise you what form to use.
Maintains a current edition of the South Carolina Code of Laws Annotated, as well as other titles from the SC Bar Association. They also provide access to Gale Legal Forms, and host Free legal talks by SC Bar lawyers 4-6 times a year.
Maintains a current edition of the South Carolina Code of Laws Annotated, as well as other materials from the SC Bar Association and the NOLO series.
Greenville County Library System
Maintains a print legal collection at its main branch and provides access to Westlaw at all of its branches.
Maintains a current edition of the South Carolina Code of Laws Annotated, and provides access to Gale Legal Forms.
Maintains a current edition of the South Carolina Code of Laws Annotated,
Maintains a current edition of the South Carolina Code of Laws Annotated, as well as other titles from the SC Bar Association and the NOLO series. Richland County also provides access to Gale Legal Forms.
Spartanburg County Public Libraries Headquarters
Maintains a Law Collection on the upper level of the Headquarters library in downtown Spartanburg.
South Carolina Court of Appeals Library
The library of the SC Court of Appeals contains both published and unpublished opinions of the Court, as well as various legal research materials. The Library is open to the public.
South Carolina Supreme Court Library
The SC Supreme Court Library is currently closed for renovations (as of Feb 22, 2024). This library maintains an excellent collection of briefs and records of cases heard before the Court from 1918 to the present, as well as historical information.
University of South Carolina School of Law Library
This library strives to meet the educational and professional needs of students and faculty of the School of Law, the SC Bench and Bar, and the public by providing access to legal information in both print and digital formats.
Maintains a Law Collection, including the South Carolina Code of Laws through 2020, as well as other titles from the SC Bar Association.
Maintains a current edition of the South Carolina Code of Laws Annotated, and provides access to NexisUni online research platform.
TCTC does not have a current copy of the South Carolina Code of Laws. The Learning Center does provide access to HeinOnLine - an online research platform that provides more than 208 million pages of multidisciplinary periodicals, essential government documents, international resources, case law, etc.
The following South Carolina technical colleges with ABA-approved paralegal programs may have useful print or online legal reference materials available in their library collections.