Access to the resources listed on this page is limited. Users may access most of these databases from a School of Law computer. Faculty, staff, and students have remote access with a University of South Carolina network username and password.
This resource “draws upon thousands of sources to trace the Constitution’s progress through each of the thirteen states’ conventions.” The database is searchable by date, title, author, recipient, or state affiliation.
19th Century Masterfile gives researchers a resource for exploring pre-1930 literature. This database contains approximately 60 indexes covering articles published before 1925. American and British periodicals, newspapers, books, government documents, and U.S. Patents.
LLMC-Digital provides online access to over 4,000 titles related to the history of law. The material is divided into seven major content areas: U.S. Federal Government, U.S. States, U.S. Territories, Anglo-American Collections, Foreign Jurisdictions, International Law and Organizations, and Multi-Jurisdiction Subject Collections.
The Making of Modern Law: Foreign, Comparative and International Law, 1600–1926, brings together foreign, comparative, and international titles in a single resource. Its International Law component features works of some of the great legal theorists, including Gentili, Grotius, Selden, Zouche, Pufendorf, Bijnkershoek, Wolff, Vattel, Martens, Mackintosh, Wheaton, among others. The Foreign Law component features foreign legal treatises of a variety of countries. The Comparative Law component features books that compare more than one legal system and includes Ancient, Roman, Jewish Law, and Islamic Law.
A rich collection of over 22,000 legal treatises published from 1800–1926 that details the development of U.S. and British law during the 19th and early 20th centuries. The entries are searchable in full-text.
The Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926 contains a virtual goldmine of information for researchers of American legal history — a fully searchable digital archive of the published records of the American colonies, documents published by state constitutional conventions, state codes, city charters, law dictionaries, digests and more" -- Publisher's website.
Part of the Making of Modern Law collection, this database of full-text records and briefs provides access to documents filed before the U.S. Supreme Court. The documents are searchable and available in PDF.