Skip to main content

Circuit Riders: Legal Research Training for Non-Lawyers

South Carolina Legislature's Website

 


South Carolina Bills
The full text of South Carolina bills from 1980 forward are accessible through the Legislation and Archives pages of the South Carolina Legislature website.

 

South Carolina Acts
The full text of South Carolina Acts from 1980 forward are accessible through the Legislation and Archives pages of the South Carolina Legislature’s website

 


South Carolina Code
An “unofficial” version of the South Carolina Code is available through the South Carolina Legislature’s website to browse or search by keyword. The online version is not annotated.

From the Archives page of the South Carolina Legislature website you can access previous versions of the unannotated South Carolina Code back through 2000.

For detailed instructions on how to search the South Carolina Legislature website, see the South Carolina Laws video.

 

South Carolina Agency Websites

 

Administrative agencies often provide links on their websites to the major laws they enforce. The South Carolina Legislature website provides a link to an alphabetical listing of links to South Carolina State Agency Websites.

Examples include the following:

Finding SC Statutes Using Subscription Databases

The South Carolina Legislature's version of the SC Code is un-annotated.

Annotated versions of South Carolina statutes are available online via subscription to databases such as Westlaw and LexisNexis. South Carolina colleges and universities and public libraries may provide access to South Carolina and all other state annotated codes via subscription to academic and public-access versions of Westlaw and LexisNexis.

Annotated versions of all state codes are available at the University of South Carolina through its subscription to LexisNexis Academic.