LibGuides: Intellectual Property LibGuide: Decisions, Rules & Regulations

Federal Patent Regulations

Federal regulations on patents are located in Title 37 of the Code of Federal Regulations (C.F.R.). The Coleman Karesh Law Library offers various ways to access the C.F.R.

Code of Federal Regulations (in Title 37)
Print: Law (1st Floor)
Electronic Databases: HeinOnline (through the Code of Federal Regulations collection), Westlaw (login required), and Lexis (login required).
FDSys: Code of Federal Regulations (Annual Edition)
Electronic Database: US Government Printing Office
Electronic Code of Federal Regulations
Electronic Database: US Government Printing Office
Intellectual Property Law Collection
Electronic Database: HeinOnline
FederalRegister.gov
The Office of the Federal Register and Government Publishing Office built this HTML edition of the Federal Register to make it easier for citizens and communities to understand the regulatory process and to participate in Government decision-making.
Regulations.gov
U.S. Government Regulations and comments page. Search for proposed and final rules, comment on proposed rules, and sign up for e-mail alerts and RSS feeds to track pending regulations.

Selected Coleman Karesh Sources on Reviews of Patent Decisions

Federal Circuit Patent Law Decisions by Kenneth E. Krosin
Call Number: KF3114 .F42
Federal Circuit Yearbook: Patent Law Developments in the Federal Circuit
Call Number: KF9053.A53 F42 (multiple volumes)

Patent Decisions

The United States Court of Appeals of the Federal Circuit, a court which is unique in that its jurisdiction is based on the subject matter of a lawsuit, hears appeals from United States district courts and the United States Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences.

Federal Intellectual Property - Courts of Appeals Cases
Electronic Database: Westlaw (Login Required);
Coverage: 1891- Current
Federal Patent Cases from Lexis
"This file contains patent cases from the federal courts, Commissioner of Patent Appeals and Interferences, PTO Board of Appeals, International Trade Commission Series 337 and 731, Federal Register, and the Code of Federal Regulations Titles 19
and 37."
Coverage: varies by court
Federal Intellectual Property - Patent & Trademark Office Decisions
Electronic Database: Westlaw (Login Required);
Coverage: 1987- Current
United States Patents Quarterly
Print: Law;
Coverage 1929-1986
Electronic Database: Westlaw;
Coverage: 1929 to present
Patent Trial and Appeal Board
From the United States Patent and Trademark Office at uspto.gov
The Patent Trial and Appeal Board handles reviews of various matters including adverse decisions by patent examiners under certain circumstances;
Coverage: 1997- Current
Office for the Commissioner of Patents
From the United States Patent and Trademark Office at uspto.gov;
Coverage: 1996- Current
Board of Patent Appeals and Interferences Filings
Electronic Database: Westlaw (Login Required);
Coverage: 1987- Current